Friday 10th January 2020

2020 Squad Announcement

New Zealand’s training squad for the 2020 International Mathematical Olympiad was announced yesterday evening, at the end of our week-long training camp at the University of Auckland. The final team of six to travel to St. Petersburg, Russia in July 2020 will be decided in April.

The 2020 New Zealand Maths Olympiad Squad members are:

  • Hamish Baguley, Wellington College
  • Grace Chang, Saint Kentigern College
  • Ning Chin, Wellington College
  • Oliver Dai, Macleans College
  • Phillip Han, Auckland Grammar School
  • Rick Han, Macleans College
  • Mackinley He, Auckland Grammar School
  • Nathaniel Masfen-Yan, King's College
  • Ishan Nath, John Paul College
  • Ethan Ng, Burnside High School
  • He (James) Xu, Kristin School
  • Kris Zhang, Macleans College

The New Zealand team leadership will be:

  • Ross Atkins, Verizon Connect (Leader)
  • Josie Smith, University of Canterbury (Deputy Leader)
  • May Meng, King's College (Manager)