Friday 14th January 2022

2022 Squad Announcement

This week we hosted the 2022 Annual NZMOC Training Camp, which was a great success. For the first time the camp was run entirely online, with lectures being held via Google Classroom and Google Meet, and socializing happening via Discord. Everyone had a lot of fun, staff and students alike. Lecturers gave as much maths to the students as they could, and the standard at the camp was very high. I am very proud of all the students, as even getting to the camp is a fantastic achievement.

New Zealand’s training squad for the 2022 International Mathematical Olympiad has now been decided. The final team of six to travel to Oslo, Norway in July 2022 will be decided in April.

The 2022 New Zealand Maths Olympiad Squad members are:

  • Dawn Chen, St Cuthbert's College
  • Jerry Dai, Auckland Grammar School
  • Sun-woong Kang, Rangitoto College
  • Grady Kenix, Burnside HighSchool
  • Eric Lee, Macleans College
  • Eric Liang, ACG Parnell College
  • Michael Ma, Pinehurst School
  • Brena Merz, St Cuthbert's College
  • Aurora Wang, Macleans College
  • James Xu, Kristin School
  • Belle Yin, St Cuthbert's College
  • Ena Yin, St Cuthbert's College
  • Brian Zhao, ACG Parnell College

The New Zealand team leadership will be:

  • Ross Atkins, Verizon Connect (Leader)
  • Josie Smith, Phocas Software (Deputy Leader)
  • May Meng, King's College (Manager)